Not a Photo Essay + ROW80 update

Let’s get the ROW80 business over first then I can share with you an delightful find.

My writing is progressing in fits and starts but the first short story is almost drafted. The two books arrived from the editor for me to review so I’ve started perusing them and testing/trying out some of the new spinning techniques.

Weaving has been my main focus last week as the shawl has to be finished. I have completed the “real” weaving and am now doing the “finishing” – tying up loose ends, washing/fulling and blocking should all be finished by the next update. I can’t give you any photos until after the exhibition opens in early June, sorry.

As for establishing a healthy lifestyle, well, clearly that has to improve because not much happened. But I did succeed in throwing out my five things a day. Well, I averaged five things a day over the week.

One of the things I found amongst the rubble of an interstate move was a tiny little notebook which I used to carry with me on bushwalks.

This little book dates from before I bought a digital camera and so the photos which may have gone with it are yet to be unearthed. The notes were written during breaks on our climb up Mt Kosciuszko – Australia’s highest.

Photo from Russian Wikipedia

Yes it is that round hill in the distance. It was the first time we’d taken our young son up there and at seven he was far too big to carry so there were plenty of breaks during the long slog up the road. Up until 1976 you could actually drive a car to the top and this walk is up the old access road – still used by Parks Management people. The return walk from Charlotte Pass is about 18km. In the lines that follow I’m hoping you will share will me my memories of our journey.

Little dams of rock made by children, turbulence where there was none.

Drifts of flowers close to drifts of snow on the hills.

If you hear the wind behind the chattering kids and the adults with their phones and coffee, you can hear silence.

It’s easy to imagine fairies when you find yourself next to a tiny pocket of violets.

Shimmering clumps of grass seeds silhouetted by the shadow of an old wooden bridge.

High up in the Pass the cars wait poised to carry their charges home.

On another day we walked out to the ruins of an old restaurant which was built to connect two valleys by a gondola – it only lasted a few years before the winds put an end to it.

The fat skink scurried for cover over the dull cracked tiles of a once gleaming and glamorous bathroom.

Twisted, tortured, sinuous, stark white branches of heath dead from the tramp of booted feet eager to stay on the track – bones cracking underfoot.

I find it interesting so many years later how much pleasure reading these thoughts gave me – far more than the 100′s of digital photos that I now take and never look at again. It has reminded me that a big part of being a writer is taking the time to notice things – and maybe even putting away the camera occasionally.

What do you think? Can taking a photo really recreate the experience?

ROW80 blog hop

7 thoughts on “Not a Photo Essay + ROW80 update

  1. I’ve become an almost obsessive photo taker. I also carry a small notebook when I travel, but I use the pictures as starting points for writing pieces. I hope you post pictures of your spinning project. I’m in a “sewing” group. You can belong whether you sew or not. My counted cross-stitch projects are so insignificant compared to the ambitious and artful quilting projects of many of the women. It’s important to be able to do something with your hands, I think.

  2. Nice! Perhaps I should put away my camera more often and take my snapshots with words. :)

  3. “It’s easy to imagine fairies when you find yourself next to a tiny pocket of violets.”
    Very cool thought…I agree with Ruth (above). There are times when it’s nice to just use words.

  4. I LOVE your last paragraph. I keep taking pictures and they rarely see the light of day – at least my mom keeps hers going on the screensaver slideshow on her computer! But the first time I went to the Burren in Ireland, I was as entranced by the landscape of grykes as I was by the Poulnaborne Dolmen, and I just free-wrote for half an hour. I can re-read that and it brings it all back. Thanks for sharing.

  5. I’m the classic paparazzi mum and most end up in scrapbooks. I love the idea of getting rid of five things a day :) Nothing like a simpler life. Wishing all the best for the upcoming week.

Comments are closed.